Time to Move On

bernard-hermant-zqx58cvjR5A-unsplash (1)

Well, friends, it’s time to move on.

After being called into the principal’s office for my last post (now deleted), the time has come to change up my blog. There’s only so many times I can write something that gets me in trouble before I finally submit to that voice in my head that’s been saying, “Hey, you know, maybe you oughta keep some of this to yourself? Or at least maybe write privately?”

I’ve tamped down this voice for as long as possible because I’ve always valued the process of writing so much more than the product. The posts I’ve written have been instrumental in nudging me towards many of the power revelations of my professional career. As the cliche goes, I rarely know what I think about something until I write it. Ideally this is what I will continue doing: using writing to help me navigate the shifty intersections of the interiority of my consciousness and education. But it won’t happen here on this blog.

Each of my posts has always averaged around thirty views. If you take my family out of the metrics, then my average readership is a pretty consistent twenty or so people. This is great! The fact that anyone outside of my immediate-and-therefore-obligated circle of kin would take time to read my words is pretty mindblowing.

I thought my tiny readership would keep me below the radar. Who cares what an average middle school teacher thinks? Especially when that teacher’s thoughts clearly represent someone who cares deeply about their profession and their students. Yet the response to my last post (again, now deleted) puts in stark relief another of writing’s undeniable truths: once you publish something, it’s out of your hands. It’s out in the wild and anyone is free to read and interpret it however they want. (This is a good thing, btw.)

So I have decided to do three things: stop writing on this blog, create a new blog dedicated to writing about my daughter, and continue my educational and personal writing somewhere else that’s private.

Some folks might think I’m overreacting. And I probably am! But if I want to continue writing the way I want to write, then my gut tells me it’s time for something else. For me to keep doing the same thing and expect different results would be foolish. While I might return to this blog (it has such a great name!), it probably won’t be anytime soon. I need the eyes that are currently on it to move onto new things.

Thank you to everyone who has read, liked, and shared my writing. I am excited for the writing that’s to come. It’s never the end.

Photo by Gemma Evans on Unsplash

2 comments

  1. parent

    Hello Mr. Anderson, I will miss seeing your posts, but I know it is important to the students to have you in the classroom. I’ve learned so much in the past two years. Stay well

    Like

  2. edenf4444

    noo :(( i’ll miss the posts mr anderson. good for you though, i dont think you’re overreacting at all. whats the point in writing if you cant truly write?

    Like

Leave a comment